TetraFan

Do I Over-React? Meh.

Rate this Entry
This is a Blog, so it's different from a Thread. It's not intended to be helpful necessarily, or even interesting. We hope that we are still interesting, even with online people. But it's hard to tell from here some days. And I want to put me out here a little bit just for personal interest to be honest about it but anyway a Blog being that, means nobody is obligated to read it unless they just want to. So that having been said I was wanting to explain me a little, and it's not about what you are probably thinking. It's about the animals that we are buying. These aquatic ones in our cases. These PETS.
I worry about these guys. I mean, genuinely worry about them.
I bought them, brought them home, plunked them in what is essentially a bucket of water and expect them to BE HAPPY in it. Expect them to not ever get BORED, in it.
Now, I'm a Veterinary Technician if you have to grab me and pin me down about it. I am specifically a Surgical Tech and Animal Anesthetist, and the work I've done for the D.O.D. makes me so just so freaking cool that nobody likes me. Even though all I've done is push beakers around. For real. haha Ahem. So I spend a lot of time with my pets. It's one of those things I understand about me and can't seem to do anything about.
So anyway, I have this empathy for these pets, these creatures as soon as, the minute as, I can see some kind of intelligence or something. Some smartosity of some kind. A personality. Like that.
Then, bam. They're a dog/cat/bird whatever and I can classify them in a way that makes them PETS rather than "These are my fish, or this is our cat". I get overly into their behavior, humanizing them by degrees. I know this. But I'm really an expert on it, Animal Behavior, a real one, and aquatics were wonderfully distracting until we dabbled in salt water and now we can never, ever go back... and they are incredible things just like all of your tanks I know, I know.