PDA

View Full Version : How about a biocube 29?

Fishbone
05-03-2010, 04:49 PM
Like many of you, I've decided to add a little salt to my mostly FW life. A little bit nervous, but I will take it slow and learn along the way.

My question is I have been debating going with a biocube 29g as a starter tank vs investing in a much larger 100G+ custom setup. Aside from the money aspect any pros and cons with going nano or going macro sized? I'm still learning the SW terminology but I would like to start with this smaller tank to understand what works and what doesn't before going big ($$). This was the same approach I took with my FW tanks.

I found a biocube in great shape for a pretty good price so that doesn't hurt :)

Your advice and words of wisdom are much appreciated.

donkey
05-03-2010, 06:26 PM
With saltwater a larger tank is so much easier to take care of.It cost more but well worth it.Small tanks the water conditions can change so quickly and if you are not doing constant water changes you can have lots of deaths and problems.Big tanks are much more forgiving.That has been my experience and I have also heard that from others.Small tank is probably good if your just looking to keep damsels and no corals.

deviltiger
05-03-2010, 11:02 PM
29g Biocube is perfect for saltwater setup man ;) and I have 1 for sale right now :D come with stand, heater N in perfect condition. pm for price if you interesting:exactly::exactly::exactly:

http://dallas.craigslist.org/dal/for/1723449529.html <--- picture N infors

TheCanuck
05-04-2010, 02:09 PM
bio cubes are overpriced.

GO MONSTER.

I am a little bias lol, maybe because i love large predator tanks.

I have 46g 55g 360g tanks running salt right now

I had a 125g three 55gs and 180g all salt as well.