PDA

View Full Version : Anyone used Flourite sand?



jabbott
03-28-2010, 09:30 AM
I've used Seachem Flourite gravel before and was wondering if anyone has used the Flourite sand. The loaches and cories seem to like the sand and the plants like the Flourite, so I thought this would be the best for both.

Did you have any issues with Flourite sand? Is it similar in consistency and weight to 3M Colorquartz sand? Do you recommend another sand-like substrate for a planted tank?

jabbott
03-29-2010, 12:13 PM
I ended up getting 2 bags Eco-Complete and 1 bag black Flourite sand. I will either mix them together or use in different tanks.

jax
03-29-2010, 12:45 PM
I have Eco, Flourite, and Flourite Black sand, and they all work great. The sand isnt as bad as the regular flourite in terms of dust and whatnot. It grows plants great and looks good too! I would recomend either eco or the sand as they dont have to be washed (eco) or washed very little(sand).

jabbott
03-29-2010, 12:59 PM
Thanks jax. Have you ever mixed the Flourite sand & Eco? They look like it would work OK.

jax
03-29-2010, 01:00 PM
I haven't used those two together but I think it will be fine. The eco has alot of sand in it too.

jax added 16 Minutes and 56 Seconds later...

If I were you I would wash the sand before you mix the two. Eco doesn't need to be washed but I would do a once over with the sand. Please post some pics when you get it setup.

Typical Tony
03-29-2010, 01:51 PM
yes please post pics, i would also love to see how the flourite sand looks..

jabbott
03-31-2010, 04:03 PM
Here's a few photos of the new substrate. In the first photo, Eco-complete is in the top half of the container and black Flourite sand is in the bottom half. Mixing them worked out well so far since the Eco was a little too chunky and the Flourite was a little too fine. The mixture reminds me of rich black potting soil. The second and third photos are of it in the tank.

By the way, I haven't finished adding plants yet and I may remove those caves - they stick out too much with the black substrate.

http://www.dfwfishbox.com/forums/production/picture.php?albumid=159&pictureid=5844 http://www.dfwfishbox.com/forums/production/picture.php?albumid=426&pictureid=5845 http://www.dfwfishbox.com/forums/production/picture.php?albumid=426&pictureid=5846

alta678
03-31-2010, 08:07 PM
Nah, leave the caves in there. Give it a few months and you will have to search through the plants to find them. Looks good!