PDA

View Full Version : Too much flow?



Kat
01-17-2010, 01:32 PM
Finally got a tank that is 6 ft long & working on setting up the equipment. I'm running 3 undergravel filter plates with 3 MaxiJet 1200 & a Fluval 405 for the other filtration. Tank is 20" tall x 18" deep x 72" long.

I'm planning on keeping clown loaches, BN, & pictus catfish. Not sure yet what mid level fish I'll want to add.

Sollo
01-17-2010, 04:39 PM
That tank is going to be awesome - especially starting off with those tank mates! I would think most of the water movement being at the top - the clowns will love it and come out to play. :)

kewlkatdady
01-17-2010, 04:40 PM
not too much...if the tank is going to be overcrowded you may want to get a bigger canister.

I have my 125 turned over 12 times and hour...

Kat
01-17-2010, 04:50 PM
OK--thanks for the input. By the time the tank gets to the overcrowded stage I'm sure I'll have another canister or can hang my big AquaClear on it.

Paul--got the water in it last night :) Still cloudy (guess I didn't rinse the pea gravel well enough :rolleyes:) but eager to start adding fish in about a month :D Thanks again for all the help with it.

dcacjc
01-17-2010, 06:13 PM
i have the same tank with the same live stock, i have my filtration set up to where it flows like a river, intakes at one end and output at the other. I am running 2 - XP3 and wet/dry rated for a 125g.

Sollo
01-21-2010, 11:16 AM
Thanks for the sneak peek pics - it is looking great already! :)