PDA

View Full Version : tlc smartstart



Adroit
01-14-2010, 11:54 AM
has anyone else tried this? i bought a 4oz bottle, which supposedly has enough live nitrifying bacteria for 50 gallons, but when i added the whole bottle to my 10 gallon tank it didn't really do anything (in regards to ammonia/nitrite/nitrate). I tested my water before which has these specs: ammonia 6-8, nitrite 1, and nitrate 5 - and now 48 hrs later i still have those same specs. do you think it might take a few more days for the bacteria to multiply, was the bottle a dud, or is my ammonia too high which inhibits bacterial growth?

cichlidkeeper
01-14-2010, 01:37 PM
may take a while to establish....

greeneyed
01-14-2010, 01:57 PM
What timeline did the bottle give?

JMatthew
01-14-2010, 02:51 PM
Wouldn't waste my money on it. If anything ask in the forums for some used media from someone nearby you.

Adroit
01-14-2010, 03:28 PM
the bottle says instantly cycles your aquarium lol. i took the bait.

Typical Tony
01-14-2010, 03:38 PM
use an airstone and add a couple of small fish to start the cycle.

kewlkatdady
01-14-2010, 03:58 PM
yeah they still sell that crap...

all the bacteria in a bottles are crap except for bio spira...and even that one has some bad reviews.

the seeded filter media is the best way to go.

JMatthew
01-14-2010, 03:59 PM
Heck - your sig says you have a 37 gallon already establish. Just use some media from that. I've set up over a dozen tanks that I tossed fish into within hours with no casualties using that method. Use some water from the establish tank also and between the two you should be able "clone" the tank quickly!

Adroit
01-14-2010, 08:00 PM
lol i tried squeezing the gunk out of the sponge filter from my 37 gallon but man there was too much so it left like half an inch of crap everywhere. it took me two days to get rid of it.
update: i added some of the filter and grit guard from my brother's filter at 4pm and now at 9pm, the ammonia has dropped from 6-8 to 0.5.
lesson learn, don't squeeze the filter stuff into your aquarium as most of that stuff is poo

greeneyed
01-14-2010, 08:09 PM
Squeeze it in the filters....
"getting rid of it" kinda defeated the purpose don't ya think?
A tank doesn't have to look purty from the get go.

kewlkatdady
01-14-2010, 08:18 PM
i wouldn't squeeze any of it....

just add the filter media to the new tank...

very little beneficial bacteria lives in the water column.

Adroit
01-14-2010, 08:32 PM
yeah i was thinking of squeezing the 40 gallon sponge to my 10 gallon sponge, but there was so much poo from the seeded one that it left a half inch of mulm on the substrate.

greeneyed
01-14-2010, 08:42 PM
1/2"....? Come on.... Like Jerod said, get a new sponge for the 40g, and shove that one in the filter for the 10g.

Adroit
01-14-2010, 08:52 PM
1/2"....? Come on.... Like Jerod said, get a new sponge for the 40g, and shove that one in the filter for the 10g.

Yeah I should of did that.

flamenco-t
01-15-2010, 08:55 AM
This is what you can also do, dump your filter crap into the the media on your filter. You can do this to an HOB filter or canister filter or even sump.

It'll minimize the crap that's floating

Joe Reborn
01-15-2010, 10:15 AM
I have started tanks with just old media and instantly adding the fish i have never lost a fish and always test my water 24 hours after doing that and always get good to great results. and after about 24 hours the crap i put in the tank is cleared up and doesn't look like crap. What i do is go into my sump of a 90gal tank and take the spung and squeez it a few times. the spung is after the filter that catches all the big crap, so i get dirty warter for about 24 hours then its all good.

dallas1scholar
01-15-2010, 10:42 AM
Yup, Joe saved my tank from a ammonia and nitrite spike doing this. Now my tank is better than ever.